//
you're reading...
gamobot

Prince of Persia source code

I’m a huge Prince of Persia fan. About a week ago, I saw a random tweet referencing the fact that you can now download the original Prince of Persia code for free! My first reaction was wow, I should download it! For a few minutes, I started to concoct plans to make my own Prince of Persia style game.

Before I forget, if you’re interested in the Prince of Persia source code, you can get it here: https://github.com/jmechner/Prince-of-Persia-Apple-II

The guy who wrote the original game, Jordan Mechner, put up the code and it’s accompanying documentation up on Github. Thanks Jordan!

After I calmed down from the initial rush that I had knowing that one of my favorite game’s source code was available for free, I realized that there is not much you can do with it, realistically, in this day and age.

The code is Apple II code, yes, Apple II. Also, Ubisoft has the license for publishing Prince of Persia games. If the code was ActionScript 3, I would try to do something with it. Apple II code, I don’t know.

The funny story is that Jordan Mechner lost the original 5 1/4 floppies with the code and just found them recently. Yep, 5 1/4 floppies!

I don’t know if there is much you can do with this source code, but it’s still cool that it’s available. For those of you that download it, have fun!

About gbotceo

bizdev 2.0 / co-founder - gamobot

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

gbotceo twitter feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

