//
you're reading...
casual games

Leisure Suit Larry

The other day, I was sitting there wondering what happened to Sierra and Leisure Suit Larry. For those of you who remember playing games in MS-DOS and using typed commands like “pick up sword” to play games, will probably know what I’m talking about. Truth be told, I was more of a Hero’s Quest fan than Leisure Suit Larry.

Wikipedia calls him a ‘loser’. I thought that was hilarious! I did have a laugh or two playing Leisure Suit Larry back in the day. Larry was a 40 something dork who would roam around and try to pick up super hot women who were arguably out of his league, with corny pick up lines.

What the heck happened to Sierra though? King’s Quest, Hero’s Quest, Leisure Suit Larry were the talk of the town back in the day. Maybe Zynga bought them and they went bust. Ok, the last comment is a joke! Ha ha!

So I googled ‘Leisure Suit Larry’, wondering if anyone thought of making a new version of it. I quickly found a kickstarter project and discovered that the original creator, Al Lowe, and a company called Replay Games are trying to make a new version happen.

If you’re interested in giving these guys a contribution: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/leisuresuitlarry/make-leisure-suit-larry-come-again

You gotta love the internet and kickstarter. They’ve already achieved their original objective of raising over $500k with over 12,000 backers. They’re promising PC, Mac, iPad and Android versions. If they exceed the goal, they’re even talking about XBLA, PSN, and Linux versions. I would definitely try the XBLA or PSN version.

This could be interesting, but my real question is why did they make Larry a dork? Why not make a cool character like 007, or some fit dude, who’s actually successful at picking up hot women? I would certainly be more inclined to play a game like that. I guess I’m not into this whole dork Larry concept, but it is still hilarious and if you want a laugh or two, you can count on this game to amuse you. I get quickly bored of loser Larry… Sorry…

In any case, I’m going to give these guys a little money just to support their cause. It’s my first kickstarter pledge.

I’m supposed to get a 5-pack of full HD wallpapers in 1920×1080 resolution of “the girls of Leisure Suit Larry” (plus one of Larry himself). Great! The posters would be a great strategy for scaring people away! Uhh, I don’t think I would put those up. I would come across as a bit of a pervert. Wait, hang on, is that the real reason why people play this game? The renderings of hot women? Hmm…

Time for my two cents… I’m not confident the game will fly. I don’t want to be negative or a harsh critic, but the series never really took off after the DOS days.

It will be interesting to see what the graphics will be like, I’ll surely download a copy and check it out when and if it comes out. I’ll try to do a VLOG on it, if it’s impressive. That’s right folks, I’m gearing up to do some video posts… Later!

About gbotceo

bizdev 2.0 / co-founder - gamobot

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Leisure Suit Larry

  1. The main draw for Larry is in being a loser, though I’m sure he has some break through moments (I haven’t played all of them, I was more into Quest for Glory, Gabriel Knight, Kings Quest.) IMO there were some VERY amusing moments for me playing LSL though, especially the contextual feedback the games would give you. LSL 7: Love for Sail was the best selling of the series, if I remember right. Though I guess that had a DOS version.

    The two later games have no real relation to the originals besides exploiting the IP, assumedly trying to piggyback on the success of the former games. They also didn’t involve the creator of the series and focused towards smut and mini games rather than the humor and clever/awkward situations that defined the games.

    In the pre-internet days sure there was a draw for adolescents to play the game, because they were off-limits or naughty. But that’s what the humor evolves around. Some of these kids got hooked into the game and ended up being very entertained for other reasons: I see countless stories come up since this Kickstarter began (it’s pretty hilarious.) It wasn’t about boobies or getting the ladies or exploiting women, which a lot of people would assume.

    I just realized I might be coming across as preachy, but really I just wasn’t sure if you knew about some of these things I brought up. It’s awesome for you to support this game even when you weren’t really a fan of it. If you liked Gabriel Knight or King’s Quest VI.. Jane Jensen has a Kickstarter right now for her new studio and game. It’s worth a look. http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1005365109/jane-jensens-pinkerton-road-2012-2013-csg

    Posted by sVnsilver | April 27, 2012, 7:14 pm
    • I never really got into the games long enough to get into the storyline, but I’m sure it’s not only about getting the ladies. I am going to try the new version of LSL when it comes out. I’m just saying that I would probably be more into the game if Larry was a cool character, but that’s just me.

      I’ll check out Jane Jensen’s Kickstarter project. Thanks! :-)

      Posted by gbotceo | April 28, 2012, 10:57 am
      • I could see that working for a game, like a spy comedy or such.
        Overall with this recent surge of creative freedom among developers and indie games, I’m really excited about possibilities.

        Thanks for the reply and take care :).

        Posted by sVnsilver | April 28, 2012, 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

gbotceo twitter feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

