//
you're reading...
casual games

Casual gaming in Japan

FamitsuI’ve always been intrigued by Japan. I never made it to Japan even though I’ve traveled extensively in Asia. Japan is home to Nintendo, Sega, Sony, Final Fantasy, Metal Gear, and Mario.

The list goes on and on. Needless to say, the country has developed quite a reputation in gaming and innovation in general. Japan always stays on the cutting edge of gaming and animation. I remember watching Akira when I was a kid and being totally fascinated! One of my favorite games of all time is the Tekken series from Namco.

I do a lot of research in casual gaming, and decided to embark on a mission to check out the casual gaming scene in Japan. I’ve seen some pretty cool flash stuff come out of Japan in the past including one of my favorite games. Metal Slug Flash. This was published in 2005, and at the time, it really captured my attention. I think it would challenge a lot of the latest flash games in terms of ingenuity and game play, to this day!

I must admit that it’s quite difficult to get a solid overview of the industry there sitting here in Montreal. I think I will jump on a JAL flight one of these days and go check out the scene first hand. Rest assured, I will take a lot of pictures and videos.

There’s an old CESA (Computer Entertainment Suppliers Association) report saying that 3 out of every 10 people in Japan are gamers. Since this is an old report, the numbers have likely increased with more and more people on the internet, and mobile/devices. I’ve read and heard that the Japanese are nuts about mobile phones. I’m sure mobile games are being played like wildfire in Japan!

There are probably opportunities for Flash developers in Japan. Adobe AIR now provides easier options for getting a Flash game out to the iPhone and Android markets. Mobile gaming became popular in Japan years before it did in the US and Europe. I’ve heard that Japan has led the world in some years for Flash development and adoption.

I found this video on youtube which gives you a flavor of what kind of games are popular there:

It’s clear the scene is different there, and we don’t know much about it here in the West. Japan is one of the gaming leaders in the world. Maybe I can learn a thing or two from the Japanese…

All this to tell you that I’m making my way into Japan! I also have to check out the Playstation Vita and some Famitsu magazines. :-) What better place than in Japan? To be continued…

About gbotceo

bizdev 2.0 / co-founder - gamobot

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

gbotceo twitter feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

