//
you're reading...
flash games, social games

Zynga Poker

I have to admit that I was addicted to playing zynga poker for a little while. How did it start? Well, I downloaded the app on my android phone and paid $5 for some credits. Don’t tell anyone, but I ended up spending something like $100. I typically chalk this exercise up as research on the industry, but I got hooked for a little bit (more so than usual).

I have always wanted to become a decent poker player since I love strategy, competitive analysis, and decision making. I figured I’d take a look at the online poker marketplace. What do I have to lose?

Let’s look at zynga poker. It’s a flash game connected through facebook and recently mobile apps. That’s right, you can sit in your bed at night, and play zynga poker with opponents all around the world.

I wasn’t a big fan of the browser version as it’s somewhat cluttered and not pleasing to the eye, if you’re someone who likes a clean layout. The android version however was extremely clean. Truth be told, I played it for some time. Talk about bugs! The original android version that I was using wouldn’t start up properly half the time, and sometimes it kicked me out of tables because of a bug and I lost valuable chips. I tried to contact zynga customer support several times via e-mail and twitter. I never got a response.

Ups and downs! I won $22M in chips in one hand, and then lost the majority. Thank god this is virtual, and I don’t have a gambling habit! The game does provide countless hours of entertainment and sheer excitement even if you’re playing with quasi-virtual chips. I actually was doing pretty good, but the game takes up way too much time. Even though I lost some chips, I always managed to win them back.

The bottom line is that this game has gone bananas! It is the most popular poker game online worldwide! Now, if you think of all the poker sites like pokerstars, titan poker, and party poker that have been going for years, this is an amazing accomplishment for a flash/facebook app. Makes you think of the possibilities…

$1.14B in revenue in 2011. I don’t know what to say but wow and congratulations zynga! I have heard that zynga posted some sort of loss even with those numbers. In any case, I’m not here to knock or analyze them financially, I’m more interested in the success of the actual game. I would have appreciated some sort of response to my inquiries about lost chips due to android bugs. Oh well. Let’s move on…

Zynga went IPO. There’s talks about zynga poker entering or re-legalizing online gambling in the USA. That would be pure insanity!

Welcome to the power of social networks and a highly addictive game like poker! It gives a guy like me a lot of food for thought!

I have to commend them as well on a brilliant marketing job. Everything from the cartoon zynga babes, actual zynga poker girls that users get to rate on facebook, and even an actual zynga poker conference. They did such a good job that I even considered going to the zynga poker conference! Even though I’m a marketing guy, I fall prey to marketing myself. They did a good job in that department, that’s for sure!

It was fun while it lasted! No offense, zynga, but I deleted my copy of zynga poker. I need to focus on building my own gaming empire. :-)

About gbotceo

bizdev 2.0 / co-founder - gamobot

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Zynga Poker

  1. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for rookie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    Posted by aerobic en casa | April 8, 2012, 6:52 am
    • Yes, your comment went into my spam box. I took it out and approved it… If you’re looking for some hints to blog, I would say that the first step would be find something that you’re passionate about! :-)

      Posted by gbotceo | April 9, 2012, 4:11 pm
  2. Awesome site over here! I’ll subscribe roulette when it’s possible for me.

    Posted by roulette spelen | April 8, 2012, 1:49 pm
  3. The increase in the number of mobile gaming on phones and other devices has created the demand for a huge number of mobile gambling companies to spring up. There is one that is quite new to the scene that your readers might like to check out – http://www.pocketwin.co.uk. If you would be so kind to allow this post on your blog, I’m sure your readers will thank you for it.

    Posted by Hedrick Owl | April 9, 2012, 8:05 am
  4. It’s in reality a great and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by покер | April 9, 2012, 7:03 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

gbotceo twitter feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

